Holidays in Central Asia? This part of the world, in the centre of Asia, offers plenty of exciting and exotic destinations. Here you can experience lots of culture and history.

Which countries are included in Central Asia?

Central Asia is a geographical region in central Asia that mainly includes the five former Soviet republics: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. It is bordered by the Caspian Sea to the west, China to the east, Siberia to the north and Iran to the south.

In addition to the countries that are always considered part of Central Asia, Western Mongolia and Northwest China are often included. Sometimes Afghanistan and Tibet are also included. According to UNESCO, Central Asia is even larger and includes northwestern India, the northern half of Pakistan and northeastern Iran.

Samarkand i Uzbekistan i Centralasien
Samarkand is located in Uzbekistan, in Central Asia.

Central Asia - a region full of culture and history

Central Asia is a region full of culture and history, including delicious and exciting food. The most populous country in the region is Uzbekistan, with the historic cities of Bukhara and Samarkand. Uzbekistan's capital Tashkent is the largest city in Central Asia.

Articles on travel destinations in Central Asia

Here you will find lots of interesting articles about travelling in Central Asia. The countries that also belong to East Asia (such as China and Mongolia) can be found under "East Asia" in the menu. The articles have been written either by us (Helena and Peter at FREEDOMtravel) or one of our guest writers. So far there are reports on the following countries:

Want to read more about destinations in Asia?

If you want to read more about destinations in Asia? Here at FREEDOMtravel you will also find reports on countries in the Middle EastSouth AsiaSouth-East Asia and East Asia.

Subscribe to our newsletter