Travelling to Southern Africa? This part of the world, in the southern part of Africa, offers many exotic and exciting destinations. Travelling here is popular for safaris, but there are also opportunities to experience everything from culture to natural beauty.

Which countries are part of Southern Africa?

Southern Africa refers to the southern part of the African continent and should not be confused with 'South Africa', which refers to only one country in the region. The number of countries included in Southern Africa depends on the definition, but generally five countries are included: South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Botswana and Namibia.

Some broader definitions include additional countries, north of these five. Countries that can be counted are Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Malawi, as well as the island states of Comoros, Madagascar and Mauritius.

Southern Africa - an exciting region

Southern Africa is an exciting region with a lot to offer. One of the most visited destinations here is South Africa, where you can experience Cape Town, for example, but also safari in the Kruger Park. Who doesn't dream of seeing 'the big five' - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino, buffalo?

Other interesting countries in this region include, for example, Botswana and Namibia. These countries also offer great opportunities to experience wildlife and nature.

Articles on travel destinations in southern Africa

Here you will find lots of interesting articles about travel destinations in Southern Africa. The articles have been written either by us (Helena and Peter at FREEDOMtravel) or one of our guest writers. So far there are reports on the following countries in the area:

Want to read more about destinations in Africa?

If you want to read more about destinations in Africa? Here at FREEDOMtravel you will also find reports on countries in the North AfricaWest Africa and East Africa.

Subscribe to our newsletter